2022 Local Government Elections


Many of the country's most populated municipalities will hold regularly scheduled elections throughout 2021. 


Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle. 

For additional information, including information on localities not listed, please contact Meghan Holihan

Municipality State Date Pre-Election Mayoral Partisan Affiliation Winner & Post-Election Mayoral Partison Affiliation
Oklahoma City Oklahoma 2/8/2022 Republican David Holt (R) (Inc.)
Milwaukee Wisconsin 4/5/2022 Non-Partisan Cavalier Johnson (Non-Partisan) (Inc.)
Lubbock Texas 5/7/2022 Republican Tray Payne (R)
Newark New Jersey 5/10/2022 Democratic Ras Baraka (D) (Inc.)
Charlotte North Carolina 7/26/2022 Democratic Vi Alexander Lyles (D)
Washington District of Columbia 11/8/2022 Democratic Muriel Bowser (D) (Inc.)
Los Angeles California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Chandler Arizona 8/2/2022 Non-Partisan Kevin Hartke (Inc.)
Anaheim California 11/8/2022 Republican TBD
Chula Vista California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Irvine California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Long Beach California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Oakland California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
San Jose California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Santa Ana California 11/8/2022 Democratic TBD
Lexington Kentucky 11/8/2022 Republican
Louisville Kentucky 11/8/2022 Republican Linda Gorton (R) (Inc.)
Henderson Nevada 11/8/2022 Democratic Michelle Romero (R)
North Las Vegas Nevada 11/8/2022 Republican TBD
Reno Nevada 11/8/2022 Non-Partisan TBD
Raleigh North Carolina 11/8/2022 Democratic Mary-Ann Baldwin (D) (Inc.)
Greensboro North Carolina 7/26/2022 Democratic Nancy Vaughan (D) (Inc.)
Austin Texas 11/8/2022 Democratic Runoff scheduled for 12/13/2022.
Corpus Christi Texas 11/8/2022 Non-Partisan Paulette Guajardo (Inc.)
Laredo Texas 11/8/2022 Independent Runoff needs to be scheduled.