2020 Gubernatorial Elections


Eleven (11) states will hold regularly scheduled elections November 3 to choose governors. 

Click on the candidates below to view profiles we've put together on their campaign platforms, preferred policies, and more.


Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle.

For additional information please contact Meghan Holihan at msh@statside.com 

State Candidate Primary Date Filing Deadline Pre-election Party Control Post-election Party Control
North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper (D) (Inc.) 3/3/2020 12/20/2019 Democratic TBD
North Carolina Lt. Governor Dan Forest (R) 3/3/2020 12/20/2019 Democratic TBD
Montana Lt. Governor Mike Cooney (D) 6/2/2020 3/9/2020 Democratic TBD
Montana Congressman Greg Gianforte (R) 6/2/2020 3/9/2020 Democratic TBD
Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb (R) (Inc.) 6/2/2020 2/7/2020 Republican TBD
Indiana Woodrow (Woody) Myers (D) 6/2/2020 2/7/2020 Republican TBD
Indiana Donald Rainwater (Libertarian) 6/2/2020 2/7/2020 Republican TBD
West Virginia Governor Jim Justice (R) (Inc.) 6/9/2020 1/25/2020 Republican TBD
West Virginia Ben Salango (D) 6/9/2020 1/25/2020 Republican TBD
North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum (R) (Inc.) 6/9/2020 4/6/2020 Republican TBD
North Dakota Shelley Lenz (D) 6/9/2020 4/6/2020 Republican TBD
Utah Lt. Governor Spencer Cox (R) 6/30/2020 3/19/2020 Republican TBD
Utah Chris Peterson (D) Primary Canceled 3/19/2020 Republican TBD
Missouri Governor Mike Parson (R) (Inc.) 8/4/2020 3/31/2020 Republican TBD
Missouri State Auditor Nicole Galloway (D) 8/4/2020 3/31/2020 Republican TBD
Washington Governor Jay Inslee (D) (Inc.) 8/4/2020 5/15/2020 Democratic TBD
Washington Loren Culp (R) 8/4/2020 5/15/2020 Democratic TBD
Vermont Governor Phil Scott (R) (Inc.) 8/11/2020 5/28/2020 Republican TBD
Vermont David Zuckerman (D) 8/11/2020 5/28/2020 Republican TBD
New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu (R) (Inc.) 9/8/2020 6/12/2020 Republican TBD
New Hampshire State Senator Dan Feltes (D) 9/8/2020 6/12/2020 Republican TBD
Delaware Governor John Carney (D) (Inc.) 9/15/2020 7/14/2020 Democratic TBD
Delaware Julianne Murray (R) 9/15/2020 7/14/2020 Democratic TBD