2018 Gubernatorial Elections

Governors Races Overview

Thirty-six (36) states held regularly scheduled elections November 6 to choose governors. To learn more about a candidate and their campaign simply click on their name in the chart below.

Pre-election Party Control:

  • 18 gubernatorial races were for open seats
  • 26 states were held by Republicans
  • 9 states were held by Democrats
  • 1 state was held by an Independent

Post-election Party Control:

  • Republicans hold 27 governorships
  • Democrats hold 23 governorships

Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the night on November 6 and the day of November 7. 

For additional information, please contact Meghan Holihan at msh@stateside.com

State Pre-election Party Control Winner Post-election Party Control (* = flip)
Alabama Republican Governor Kay Ivey (R) (Inc.) Republican
Alaska (Open Seat) Independent Mike Dunleavy (R) Republican*
Arizona Republican Governor Doug Ducey (R) (Inc.) Republican
Arkansas Republican Governor Asa Hutchinson (R) (Inc.) Republican
California (Open Seat) Democratic Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom (D) Democratic
Colorado (Open Seat) Democratic Congressman Jared Polis (D) Democratic
Connecticut (Open Seat) Democratic Ned Lamont (D) Democratic
Florida (Open Seat) Republican Former Congressman Ron DeSantis (R) Republican
Georgia (Open Seat) Republican Secretary of State Brian Kemp (R) Republican
Hawaii Democratic Governor David Ige (D) (Inc.) Democratic
Idaho (Open Seat) Republican Lt. Governor Brad Little (R) Republican
Illinois Republican J.B. Pritzker (D) Democratic*
Iowa Republican Governor Kim Reynolds (R) (Inc.) Republican
Kansas (Open Seat) Republican State Senator Laura Kelly (D) Democratic*
Maine (Open Seat) Republican Attorney General Janet Mills (D) Democratic*
Maryland Republican Governor Larry Hogan (R) (Inc.) Republican
Massachusetts Republican Governor Charlie Baker (R) (Inc.) Republican
Michigan (Open Seat) Republican Gretchen Whitmer (D) Democratic*
Minnesota (Open Seat) Democratic Congressman Tim Walz (DFL) Democratic
Nebraska Republican Governor Pete Ricketts (R) (Inc.) Republican
Nevada (Open Seat) Republican Clark County Commissioner Steve Sisolak (D) Democratic*
New Hampshire Republican Governor Chris Sununu (R) (Inc.) Republican
New Mexico (Open Seat) Republican Congresswoman Michelle Lujan Grisham (D) Democratic*
New York Democratic Governor Andrew Cuomo (D) (Inc.) Democratic
Ohio (Open Seat) Republican Attorney General Mike DeWine (R) Republican
Oklahoma (Open Seat) Republican Kevin Stitt (R) Republican
Oregon Democratic Governor Kate Brown (D) (Inc.) Democratic
Pennsylvania Democratic Governor Tom Wolf (D) (Inc.) Democratic
Rhode Island Democratic Governor Gina Raimondo (D) (Inc.) Democratic
South Carolina Republican Governor Henry McMaster (R) (Inc.) Republican
South Dakota (Open Seat) Republican Congresswoman Kristi Noem (R) Republican
Tennessee (Open Seat) Republican Bill Lee (R) Republican
Texas Republican Governor Greg Abbott (R) (Inc.) Republican
Vermont Republican Governor Phil Scott (R) (Inc.) Republican
Wisconsin Republican Superintendent Tony Evers (D) Democratic*
Wyoming (Open Seat) Republican State Treasurer Mark Gordon (R) Republican