By Mark Anderson, Senior Vice President

The Association of Air Pollution Control Agencies (AAPCA) has been created as an association of state and local clean air agencies. This new association is a separate organization from the longstanding National Association of Clean Air Agencies (NACAA).

AAPCA is being staffed by Batelle Corporation and is expected to have its first meeting in March in Columbus, Ohio. The initial 16 member states of AAPCA are Alabama, Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming. In 2013, Kentucky, Nebraska, Nevada, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia will be members of both AAPCA and NACAA. The remaining states are no longer members of NACAA. Ohio local air agencies are expected to also become part of AAPCA in 2013.

Discussions about the formation of the organization and the separation of a number of states from NACAA began in the fall of 2011. These discussions were initiated because of the dissatisfaction by some of the states over positions on federal policy promoted by NACAA.


Mark Anderson is Senior Vice President working at Stateside Associates managing the Regulatory Services Division. He advises clients on engagement strategy and directs educational and “grasstops” campaigns directed at governors and regulatory officials. Mr. Anderson also has created issue advocacy coalitions and facilitates work group meetings of state and federal stakeholders addressing environmental issues.